When it comes to serious traffic violations such as reckless driving, every state has its laws regarding what falls under this category. Sadly, people who are arrested and charged with this misdemeanor are in the dark about the local regulations. To avoid escalating the problem, drivers plead guilty to their supposed offense and accept the charges.
It can be admirable to own up to your mistakes, but what if the charges you face are incorrect? The best way to know if your case is worth fighting for is to consult with your local traffic attorney. Another good way to avoid false reckless driving charges is to know the laws set in Virginia.
Here’s a quick summary of what counts as reckless driving in the state of Virginia that everyone can understand:
The Speed Limit
There are two ways to be charged with reckless driving based on the speed limit. First, any driver caught driving over the limit of 80 mph can be charged with reckless driving. Second, all drivers who are caught exceeding the set speed limit by 20 mph can also be charged under Virginia law.
In layman’s terms, driving 70 mph in an area where the speed limit is 50 mph or below counts as reckless driving. Although the second condition exists, many drivers are arrested for violating the first speed limit condition because most Virginia highways have a speed limit of 70 mph.
The next time you are driving through the state’s highway check your speed to make sure you do not go beyond 80 mph.
Other possible charges for reckless driving can be brought up if a driver violates the following rules when it comes to passing other vehicles on the roads:
Overtaking or passing any emergency vehicles.
Passing a stopped and correctly equipped state school bus.
Passing other cars at the railroad crossing.
Passing two vehicles that are abreast, exceptions apply on roads that have three or more lanes.
Whether these traffic violations were committed on purpose or accidentally, charges can still be filed against the driver. In cases where the driver was unaware of the local traffic laws, a traffic lawyer can provide the legal assistance required to fight the conviction if necessary.
Other Actions That Result In Reckless Driving Charges
Aside from the two most common violations committed by drivers in the state of Virginia, these are some actions that can also lead to charges:
Driving too fast in dangerous or risky conditions such as heavy rainfall and traffic jams.
Failure to use signal lights when stopping, slowing down, or making a turn.
Reckless driving within a confined space such as a parking lot or construction site.
Driving a vehicle despite having an obstructed view.
General reckless driving than may result in bodily harm, property damage, or putting anyone on the road at risk.
There are too many traffic rules that can lead to a reckless driving charge that it is near impossible to know them all. However, an experienced local traffic attorney will be able to guide you through the process and fight your case in court if the charges are false or do not count as a reckless driving violation.
Traffic violations can get you in trouble and may result in your license getting revoked. Let our traffic attorney at Bolger Law Firm help you get out of trouble. Contact us today!